I also think I'm feeling her stretch and have hiccups. Just this past Saturday morning while in bed, kicking every time I laid on my side. So when I would lay on my right side, I would feel her kick the right side of my stomach and on the left side when I would lie on that side. At one point, I was laying on my back and felt her poking outwards on the top right side of my abdomen, right below my ribs and poking out the bottom left of my belly. The middle part of my belly felt really tight. I thought it may have been a contraction, but I could distinctly feel her arms pushing up and out. That was weird... especially since I was half asleep.
I think week 24 is when she began consistently being more active. I began feeling her move more strongly and tap over and over. I'm beginning to think that it was just hiccups since it was rhythmic and repetitive. We also marked the beginning of month six at 24 weeks.
Funny and/or annoying stuff this week: stupid doctors and random comments from strangers. We finally met with Dr. Katia Apollon last Monday and after bringing up my desire to labor unmedicated as long as I could take it and prohibit use of interventions, she suggested that we find another practice. She went as far as to imply that women that want their delivery one way are just controlling. She actually said this more than once. I was very upset to say the least, but I feel that I kept my cool. This crazy ho basically told us to let her do her thing and not interfere with our ridiculous ideas of natural/unmedicated delivery. I'm pretty shocked that there are such insensitive OB doctors. The other lady - Palaez - told me to stay home if I wanted to go natural. WTF? Why doesn't she get a diff job? Anyway, we went back to Richard Suarez and he's been supportive of what we want to do and has recommended studying all of the natural birthing methods, just to have a plan a, b, c, etc. But he did mention if the baby is in distress, the natural plan is out and he's getting the baby out. That's ok with me. I just want the baby to be in the best condition possible.
And for the strangers? Let's see this week I've had 3 people reassure me that I am in fact HUGE. This sales girl and Motherhood said "You're going to have a big baby! You're really big!" Just yesterday, the lady taking our order at the Italian sandwich place asked me when I'm due. I told her and she mentioned her son being born in Feb as well. Then she just paused, stared, and said "Wow! You're huge! She's going to be a big baby!" And then just a few hours ago, I was standing by the elevator and the dark building guy said "Whoa! You're due any day now?!?!?!" I was like no, I'm actually due in three months - mid Feb. Then he said "Wow! That's gonna be a boy!" I was like, no it's actually a girl - thanks for trying. He was like "that's going to be a big baby, you're really big" and proceeded to tell this other guy how big I am in Spanish - like he was in disbelief. What the hell am I supposed to tell these people? They have big excited smiles as they tell me that I'm about to pop or am HUGE or am giving birth to the world's biggest baby. So damn annoying!
Oh yes - in week 23 I got super constipated after coming back from visiting Shawn's family in Orlando. It was soooo terrible. I tried prune juice, milk of magnesia, suppositories, and enemas. Nothing worked except getting it out manually. It was so painful and uncomfortable. I felt like I was giving birth through my butt hole. Then I stayed home the next day and kept having pretty violent poop attacks.